G is for God….

I tried to Reblog, but I’d already reblogged, so it was doing funny stuffs! Bloggie below belongs to Justin – who can be found right here http://joostsposts.wordpress.com/.

This is a blog about our first ever encounter on the bus back at the start of 2008! Enjoy!

 

This is so right for me. I know that for some of my non-Christian family/friends/acquaintances/co-workers, that me being a Christian makes me ‘Not Quite Right’. As one person on the street said to me and a friend from church, “You are a f***ing spastic retard!’

For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. 1 Corinthians 1:18 (KJV) In full context

But the natural man receiveth not the things of the Spirit of God: for they are foolishness unto him: neither can he know them, because they are spiritually discerned. 1 Corinthians 2:14 (KJV)

I used to have the same opinions myself. I was convinced all religious people were mentally ill or just not all there. I was never an atheist as I was convinced there was some sort of supernatural force at work in the universe. I declared myself a ‘pantheist’, a spiritual fence-sitter not willing to step into any one religion in case it was wrong. My sister Leeann, doesn’t believe in God, yet does believe in karma, so she does believe that there is a force that dishes out justice.

God set me straight however. Even though I was a pantheist, I prayed to God nearly every night knowing that I was generally a sinful person that needed forgiveness. I memorised the 7 deadly sins (lust, greed, gluttony, sloth, envy, vanity and wrath) confessing that I was guilty of all of them and needing forgiveness. But I continued for years sinning away as the next day I’d go right back to doing those things I had confessed the night before. Throughout my life God continually reached out to me, but I turned away in pride.

One day, I didn’t turn away. I met one of the most amazing people I had ever encountered who completely changed my mind about Christians. She was intelligent, witty, compassionate, non-judgmental, and kind, a living example of the Gospel to me. She was none of my pre-conceived ideas I had of Christians. She didn’t look less evoleved (no sloping brow). She didn’t carry any crazy placards (although most of my interaction with her was on the bus, maybe there was no room…). She didn’t bash me over the head with the bible telling me I’ll go to hell. She was just herself and God was important in her life.

At this stage I was going to the hospital a lot as I was diagnosed with a very acute glaucoma and almost completely lost my sight. I was drinking a lot and just split with a woman who I hoped I could marry (was just desperate not to be alone). I did my usual thing of drinking and went to sleep. All of a sudden I was woken by a voice of what sounded like a woman and a man talking at the same time. “You have 3 months to live.” I had never been so scared in my life. I stayed awake typing away on my PC and when I finally thought it was an hour that my new Christian friend was awake, I gave her a call and asked to go to church with her.

Beside the ‘weird’ music, I really liked my first service at Palmerston Baptist Church. The pastor had just started teaching from Ezra and Nehemiah, it was a good history lesson that I enjoyed. The next week there was going to be a visiting preacher and a men’s barbecue, I so wanted to go to the barbecue but I wouldn’t know anyone. But I did go again to see the visiting preacher. Needless to say, after a very effective evangelising service, I gave my life to Jesus and asked for prayer so that I’d stop hating myself (I thought that was more important that asking for my sight). Two months later I was baptised and that night when I thanked God for what he done for me, His Holy Spirit filled every fiber of my being with a love that no-one else could ever match. There’s no denying God when you physically feel his manifest presence.

I still go to that church, now known as Cross Roads Christian Church and that Christian woman I met on the bus is today my best friend, Miss Louella.

4 Responses  “G is for God” →
  1. *Tears streaming down face*

    Reply

     
  2. You helped save my life and I will always be greatful for that.

    Reply

     
  3. Reblogged this on I know my ABC’s, and I can prove it!! and commented: G…. is for ‘God’….

    Reply

     
1 Trackback For This Post
  1. J is for…. Justin…. « I know my ABC’s, and I can prove it!!April 15th, 2012 → 11:39

    […] Not long after that, I recieved a call from Justin in the early hours of the morning. He asked if he could come to church with us. […]

Whaddya Reckon?

