Yes Julia!

Yes Julia!

If you haven’t seen this, I think it’s worth a watch..

Julia Gillard labels Abbott a misogynist…

The leader of the opposition says that people who hold sexist views and who are misogynist are not appropriate for high office.

Well, I hope the leader of the opposition has got a piece of paper and he is writing out his resignation.

Because if he wants to know what misogyny looks like in Modern Australia, he doesn’t need a motion in the house of representatives, he needs a Mirror.

That’s what he needs.

ย Julia Gillard

36 responses to “Yes Julia!

  1. Hey Lou!
    Now…Y’all know I love yer site.
    However, time zones and shit…makes Australia ’bout one in some afternoon. Here
    Come to my site
    (Blatant Beg)
    Seriously, You must, you simply must visit, ’cause I have dropped your name (and yer fame) all over my site.
    PPL are looking for you.
    There
    We love Australia.

  2. I don’t like Abbott. I think he’s too arrogant.
    And I sincerely hope that political condition between Australia and Indonesia gets better.
    And thanks for stopping by my blog, BTW
    Salam.

  3. It was a great moment but, sadly, Tony didn’t resign. He got the top job instead!!! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Does this mean that many voters are misogynist too?

    • I didn’t personally vote for the Liberal Party, but I do know many who did. I wouldn’t in a million years consider them sexist or misogynist. Great people in fact, who were merely looking for an alternative to the in fighting scuffle the Labor Party had become. Some of them are regretful, some are not, either way, in my eyes they remain wonderful people, genuinely wanting the best for their families and communities.

      To be fair, I don’t think any government gets it right all the time.

      Though I have never felt as concerned about the conduct of one, as I do now.

  4. My only problem with Julia was that she failed to label Peter Slipper a misogynist around the same time she labelled Abbott as such for a much lesser “sin” against women!

    • If you listen to the speech in it’s entirety – Julia Gillard does go on to state:

      ‘On the conduct of Mr Slipper, and on the text messages that are in the public domain, I have seen the press reports of those text messages. I am offended by their content. I am offended by their content because I am always offended by sexism. I am offended by their content because I am always offended by statements that are anti-women.’

      and this:

      ‘Sexism should always be unacceptable. We should conduct ourselves as it should always be unacceptable.’

      I think that covers that she believes Peter Slipper should also be held accountable for any sexist behaviour on his part.

      In terms of Tony Abbotts ‘Sin’ against women – I believe that the lack of women represented in Australia’s Cabinet is a significant dis service – not only to women, but to the entire Australian Community.

      I have written about this previously – https://misslouella.wordpress.com/2013/09/17/sheilas-eh-who-needs-em/

      Thanks for dropping by Ina, and for taking the time to comment. It is wonderful to see you!

      I have been following your pieces about the conflict unfolding in Croatia and feel saddened.

      I note that Croatiaโ€™s Prime Minister Zoran Milanovic was pretty much shunned by members of the Australian-Croatian community during his very recent visit to Australia…

      Peoples voices really do make a difference.

      ML
      xx

      • I get what you mean, but Julia still failed to call Slipper a misogynist and my belief is that she did that because she needed Slipper at the time. Perhaps I am wrong but I can only act according to my perception of the issue. It is a shame that there are not enough women in Abbott’s government and more should be done to encourage women to put themselves forward and compete with men for positions on offer. Women should, I agree, speak out and be outraged at the relative lack of women in Abbott’s Cabinet and should assert themselves wherever possible. Peoples voices do make a difference and when it came to Croatia’s Prime Minister visiting Australia majority of the Australian-Croatian community wanted nothing to do with him – a strong message of disapproval of his government’s policies etc.

  5. Julia,

    Do you see that I “liked” your posts? I seem to be able to do so only in my incoming email, and can’t find the spot to do it here.

    Jus’ checkin’.

    Jesse

  6. Did you hear what Abbott said at a high school this week when a young girl asked him why he didn’t support same sex marriage – “Come on now lets have a blokes question” – not kidding, really truly not kidding. *hand on heart and will pinky swear*

    I mean he has always been a bit of douche – when he was at uni he was called ‘the mad monk’ and not a nifty rasputin reference but mad monk nutjob reference.

    So should the rest of Australia just ceced from ACT or issue a worldwide press release doing a Pontius Pilate about Abbott, you know a ‘hey don’t blame us we didn’t understand he was a complete tool and so now we’re washing our hands of him’ (where is that Lye soap and water so hot it burns a little – hmm yes that should do it )

    • I have not seen the clips of that interview yet, Jenni.

      I’m honestly not suprised.

      Whenever I think it can’t possibly get any worse….

      Did you see my article on the regressive views of Mr Abbott and the Liberal party?

      ‘Sheila’s, who needs ’em?’….

      • Going there now – I just don’t get how he made it this far, I’m not talking about the election but his rise in the ranks of his own party. They’re not the most enlightened bunch at times but neither are stupid as a rule (well mostly I think – hope). So how did he rise?

      • ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Honestly, I just have no idea. Considering some of the things he says…

        What I do think is that politics learned much from the in fighting of the ALP and perhaps part of of the lack of resistance is to do with the awareness of how important it is to be united, or at least present a united front. (No matter how outrageous, unreasonable and ridiculous things get)

        The other consideration – the negative , confronting stuff is not being shared consistently by main stream media…. And certainly wasn’t in the lead up to the election.

        So many people making uninformed votes.

        #Sad

      • #resigned

        Agree that the back and forth battles in the ALP have damaged them to the point that it will be hard to reclaim any respect even with the obviously obnoxious behaviours of Abbott and some of his key people.

        #heartened
        That by being so extreme Abbott has managed to alienate many voters who are normally conservative and even more interesting is those middle of the ground fence sitters and leaving the fence. The march in march was very interesting if you look at the footage. Groups that in the past had little in common and even less to do with each other were all lining up to protest.

        #nervous
        The the ALP won’t recover or won’t learn from it’s mistakes in time for the next election.

Whaddya Reckon?

