Pulling teeth out of a Hungry, Human Munching Dragon!

The Great Cull

Pulling teeth out of a Hungry Human Munching Dragon

Culling things from the children’s vast collection of Toys, Clothes, Cards, Shoes and Teddies is like trying to pull teeth out of a hungry, human munching dragon.

#Challenge

#EverythingIsMyFavorite

#DrySeasonClean #WeDontNeedShoes3SizesTooSmall #ButItsOnlyGotONEEye!!

Is there anything your child/ren just don’t want to let go?

86 responses to “Pulling teeth out of a Hungry, Human Munching Dragon!

  1. I still have my very first birthday card (I’m now 66), my “Three Bears” baby rattles, my membership card for the Junior Red Cross from when I was 5 and my 6th grade report cards. Sadly, my mother threw my teddy bear away when I was 14 – I was heartbroken 😦

    • Awww… I’m also a bit of an emotional hoarder – Memory Boxes are my thing… I usually keep boxes filled with things from a certain period of time that I consider ‘defining moments’ in my life.

    • That has been my experience working with younger children who have indentified behaviour consistent with Autism and AS.

      Though that’s also pretty age appropriate behaviour of all children up until a certain age – as my 8 and 10 year old provide evidence of.. lol

      Xx

      • I have πŸ™‚ I Directed a child care centre for a period of time and one of the things we needed to do was ensure we had support systems in place for children and the staff who worked with them.

        It is amazing how much of a difference it makes in a life when people are aware and use strategies that communicate and interact in a meaningful way! It can be very challenging, but also wonderfully rewarding πŸ™‚

        ML
        x

      • Wow, that’s great. Unfortunately here Brazil they are about 30-40 years behind when it comes to dealing with Autism and AS. There are absolutely no schools where I am that have someone trained in the area. I would love to see this information that you have. I will send you an email.
        Thanks a ton.
        πŸ™‚

      • Here in Australia we have Units within our our Children’s Services qualifications (which are legally required before you can work within a child care/schooling setting) that assist in the area of working with special needs/high needs children.

        You can then go on to focus on more intensive studies if you like and I know as a Director that I tried to provide my staff with opportunities to develop their skills in this area, particularly if they had special needs children within their group.

        I will try and send through some stuff over the next day or two πŸ™‚ Hopefully there will be some stuff in there that you can provide to your sons carers. There are also some fantastic courses offered online through some pretty good institutions (currently for free), so I will try and track down some links and information on those too.

        ML
        x

    • Awww… if I had not had such a transient childhood, my reactions might well be similar to yours!

      I keep memory boxes, stored with small items and trinkets to remind me of wonderful experiences in my life – or challenging experiences.. or a bit of a both…

      I’ve a few of them now, and occasionally cull (BUT not very often)

      ML
      xx

  2. I don’t know about getting rid of children’s toys and such, I have enough trouble clearing my bits and pieces out. It can be quite confronting. πŸ™‚ Oh I still have my first teddy bear. Sadly he’s gutted. 😦

    • BUT you STILL have him Laurie!! – #Impressive lol

      I do know what you mean about clearing out – much easier said than done, especially if there is an emotional attachment of sorts.

      ML
      x

      • It is impressive Miss Lou, although he stays in an old biscuit tin in the wardrobe. Clearing stuff out is painful indeed. I understand people who have a mental disorder and how they can hoard things. There are some special things that you cling to, I have a handmade xmas card my mother made for her mother back in 1930. Things like that are irreplaceable, however 375 empty bean tins on 2,0000 newspapers are on another level altogether. (No, I don’t do that).
        Cheers
        Laurie. xx

      • There is certainly a difference and for some of us it is a struggle to keep the ‘holding on’ bit to a level that does not have a negative impact on our lives.

        It sounds like you have all well in hand, and are keeping things with very dear sentimental value… I like to think that is also what I do, though maybe I walk a thin line on occasion!

        ML
        x

      • Books can be my downfall Miss Lou, we’re starting on a major cleanout this week so the local Lifeline shop will be getting some donations. That line can be very thin. πŸ™‚

  3. Every time I meet my niece or nephew they won’t let go of me and my phone… πŸ˜€
    Usually when they don’t eat or won’t let go of thing, elders just take me to them and and leave as to get the job done… πŸ™„

  4. We used to do it by stealth. Funny how they never noticed things were missing but if we’d let the see us throw them out there would have been tantrums. Maybe we were just cruel parents.

    • Cruel parents? Sounds like you saved them and you a whole lot of hoo haaa! lol

      If it weren’t for the fact that my kids purposely look to see if I threw their stuff away ( did it once and they’ve never forgotten, memories like elephants eh.. lol) THEN I would resort to that… lol

      I find it’s best to go through the long winded discussion and try and talk (Bribe or lure them with the thought of room for something new) them around to seeing it my way.. then once I get permission I get it as far as away as I possibly can so they can’t change their minds.. lol

  5. The scariest realm of my little girls room is her Barbie drawer… it’s a frightening place, if you were to fall in not even a Sat Nav would help you find a way out. Lego however is my biggest enemy… there’s no pain quite like stepping on an unsuspecting piece while making your way to the loo in the middle of the night. Cheek puffing agony & mental Tourette’s is the only way I can describe my reaction!!!!

    • BWAHAHAHAHAhahahahaha @ your description of Mental Tourette’s after encountering a Lego in the middle of the night!!

      #LoveItEntirely

      I too hate that darn things when they pierce into my foot! Viciously painful critter to encounter, especially when completely NOT expecting it!

      Thanks for dropping by and leaving such an awesome giggle prompting comment πŸ™‚

      ML
      x

      • Haa, you’re so very welcome! I take a little comfort in knowing I’m not the only one who has experienced such a traumatic bout of agony! Hope your cull went well, I’m delaying mine until I can find the energy to deal with presenting my case as to why you should ditch the teddy with no eyes (or stuffing) and the 20 gazillion dried up felt tip pens stashed in the bottom drawer!! Oh, the things we endure πŸ˜‰ x

  6. …which is why we have amassed a vast collection of animals and other weird/cute creatures…and basically need to extend the house to accommodate these comfortably! πŸ˜‰

  7. Ok I’ll admit it.. I loved my Johnny Bear… It was a stuffed ragged Panda. It had bright red eyes and come to think of it, red eyes sound weird…. I took him everywhere… By the time it was time to give him up his ear was missing. Yesterday my house keeper told me she went to make the bed and he wasn’t there…. I suspect foul play….

  8. T-Bear, when I was little I wouldn’t be parted from it even after a violent nightmare had me waking with his head in one hand and his body in the other [oh yeah years of therapy in that little moment right there]. T-Bear went to the Dolly Hospital [we had one in Brisbane then] to have emergency surgery and was returned good as new with a nifty bow to cover the stitches from the surgery. Now that I come to think of it he is the first head transplant case.

    Still have him and would take on any who would try to retire him from his post as my night time guardian in the bedroom chair. After the nightmare my mother and I discussed this may be a better post for him to take – plus he’d be ready to leap to my defense should any malefactor crawl out from under the bed or the closet.

  9. Less our child not wanting to let go than her parents. We look at things and think about “oh when she got this she was sooo happy…” and it goes in a box in the attic.

    • lol If only I had an attic…

      I was interested to see how a blogger I follow worked diligently to cut down her attachment to ‘stuff’ and live a minimalist lifestyle. She lived in a 90 foot apartment/room for 5 years. She had some good strategies for getting rid of stuff.

      So far, none of them are working on the kids.. lol

      • Of course, one of the things we keep is her artwork from middle school and high school. She’s like “Oh God, throw – this – out!” but we still have piles of it πŸ™‚

      • I too keep the children’s artwork. I have piles and piles of it. Some I have laminated with intent to frame.

        I also keep there school work – books and such. I have taken to scanning in copies of the certificates etc in the event they fade or get lost. Storing things electronically is much easier…

  10. Ahem…cough, splutter, my “children” are fanatically attached to their stuff, most of which sits in MY attic and hasn’t been used for a decade. However, at the mere mention that perhaps it is time to cull their belongings, I am looked upon as the creator of all evil. My ‘” children” are getting close to 30!!!!!

  11. Ha ha… I remember once when we had the great soft toy cull when I was young. I also remember sneaking my Garfield toy into my backpack when my mum wasn’t watching lol. Still have him to this day πŸ™‚

    • #YayBananas #SaveGarfield

      I loved my cabbage Patch Doll as young girl. My mother couldn’t afford a proper one at first, and so we got a $5 one from the markets.

      My brother punched in it’s face.

      The next one I got (for my birthday) was a real one.

      Colotta Wendy was her name – my brother ‘tried’ to punch in her face, but almost broke his hand.. lol

  12. Ha ha – my kids are still very little so I can get away with a sneaky approach (my eldest is coming up for four) – of an evening, when they’re in bed, the toy removal fairy comes in and sweeps up a couple of items, not too many so as to arouse suspicion, just a couple and then flies back out again, but she visits regularly – though so far they haven’t got much further than the loft – a few have been given to friends – lends itself to an awkard ‘mummy, didn’t I have a X like that?’ ‘oh yes, I belive you did darling.’

    • LOL! One of my friends on Facebook suggested I do the culling when they are not home, but like you, my children also have the knack of discovering and coming out with…

      ‘Mummy, do you know where those favorite shoes of mine are?

      ‘hmmm’ I say – ‘the ones with holes that don’t fit and that you haven’t worn for 3 years?’

      ‘Yes’

      Me: Oh Crap!

Whaddya Reckon?

