I stand for Mercy

I Stand for Mercy

Andrew and Myuran, two young Australians, face execution in Indonesia.

You will achieve more in this world through acts of mercy than you will through acts of retribution

– Nelson Mandela

I Stand For Mercy

10 responses to “I stand for Mercy

  1. I have been following this story for a decade, starting with Schapelle Corby saga. Yesterday was one of the most heartbreaking days I’ve had in a long time. I basically sat at my desk watching the Sydney Morning Herald’s updates. And I barely slept last night I was so distraught. This world makes me want to cry. I’m happy to see Australia has pulled their ambassadors out of Jakarta. And what I wouldn’t do to have one of Muyuran Sukumaran’s paintings on my wall. If anything just to remind me to live every day to the best of my ability.

    • Oh Maesha. #Relate!!

      Like you, I had little sleep last night.

      I did not personally know these men and I cannot explain articulately why I am so heartbroken about this, which is why I kept the post short.

      I got to sleep at about 3:30am. I woke at 5:00am, saw my twitter feed and almost vomited at the news they had been shot.

      #Sadness #IstandForMercy

      • I think you put it most articulately below when you say “An eye for an eye makes the whole world blind.” That is perfect. And everything in the world is wrong when a hell-hole like Kerobokan prison manages to change two young men for the better and still, in the end, puts a bullet through their hearts. It’s not just “enacting the law” any more. I’m of the school of thought that Joko Widodo used these lives to appeal to the common vote. It makes him no better than any other criminal. He appeals for the lives of imprisoned Indonesian expatriates but can’t hear the cries of the world on his own soil. It’s heartbreaking and maddening and leaves me dumbfounded.

      • Argh!! Such a waste! 😦 I read this on another blog I was reading regarding this matter, and the writer expressed well one of the things I find especially frustrating;

        ‘And it is partly because my sense of justice is appalled that it has been suggested that bribes were sought when determining the sentence these boys were given, that ultimately ended their lives, and nobody in the Indonesian government or judiciary cared enough to fully investigate these allegations before carrying out the executions.’ – from this post; http://nickabroad.com/2015/04/29/reflection-on-sadness/

        I just saw this by Waleed and agree with everything stated;
        http://www.heraldsun.com.au/news/the-projects-waleed-aly-says-andrew-chan-and-myuran-sukumaran-were-let-down-five-times/story-fni0fiyv-1227327278358

      • So sad. I think I will read those later. I’m starting to get depressed again. Time to find something uplifting to spark this day!

    • 😦 Feeling very underwhelmed this morning. Went to bed at 2am, Woke up at 5 am , read the news and felt like I was going to Vomit.

      I literally cried.

      • I know. I really thought there might be a miracle but it was not to be. And, saddest of all, is that the executions won’t make a jot of difference to the drug problems.

      • Right. And, sadly, the Indonesian judicial system has actually lost two men with amazing testimony. Men that advocated for rehabilitation and worked tirelessly for ten years of their lives guiding others and creating a meaningful, positive change in their environments.

        An eye for an eye makes the whole world blind…. 😦

        #Heartbreaking

Whaddya Reckon?

